EU Treaties | EU Training

EU Treaties

Presents the EU’s integration from 1952-2011. 

This e-learning course presents the milestones in the European Union’s integration by discussing the EU Treaties in detail. Consequently, you can learn about the Treaty of Paris, the Treaty of Rome, the Merger Treaty, the Single European Act, the Treaty of Maastricht, the Treaty of Amsterdam, the Treaty of Nice and finally the Treaty of Lisbon and the institutional, policy and other developments they have introduced, as follows:

Treaty of Paris

  • The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)
  • The founding 6 Member States Treaty of Rome
  • European Economic Community (EEC)
  • Euratom Treaty and the European Communities (EC)
  • Community policies and institutions created

Merger Treaty

  • Institutional changes
  • A single European Commission and Council of Ministers

Single European Act

  • Creating the Single Market
  • New European policies
  • Unanimity vs. qualified majority decisions
  • European Council, European Court of First Instance

Treaty of Maastricht

  • The European Union and the 3 pillars
  • The Committee of the Regions
  • The Euro and new Community competences
  • Co-decision procedure and subsidiarity
  • EU citizenship and what is means in practice

Treaty of Amsterdam

  • Immigration, common foreign and security policy
  • The High Representative and other institutional changes

Treaty of Nice

  • Preparing EU institutions for enlargement
  • New voting system with triple conditions

Treaty of Lisbon

  • The Convention and the Constitutional Treaty
  • European Council President and other novelties
  • New voting system from 2014 onwards